NEW YORK — Edmonton Oilers middle Connor McDavid, Toronto Maple Leafs middle Auston Matthews and Colorado Avalanche ahead Nathan MacKinnon have been named the finalists for the Hart Trophy as NHL MVP.

McDavid, thought-about the seemingly winner of the award, dominated the 2020-21 scoring race with 105 factors in 56 video games — 21 greater than runner-up and Oilers teammate Leon Draisaitl, who received MVP honors final 12 months. A McDavid win would make the Oilers the primary workforce with completely different Hart Trophy winners in consecutive seasons because the Boston Bruins in 1968-69 (Phil Esposito) and 1969-70 (Bobby Orr).

McDavid, who’s Edmonton’s captain, received the Hart Trophy in 2017 and completed third within the voting in 2019. He can be the fifth participant in NHL historical past to seize the award a number of instances earlier than his twenty fifth birthday, becoming a member of Wayne Gretzky (six instances), Orr (three), Gordie Howe (two) and Alex Ovechkin (two).

Matthews scored a league-leading 41 targets in 52 video games to assist Toronto earn the highest seed within the North Division. The Scottsdale, Arizona, native grew to become the primary Maple Leafs participant to steer the league in targets since Gaye Stewart in 1945-46.

1 Related

MacKinnon had 20 goals and 45 assists in 48 games to pace the Avalanche’s top-ranked offense and help them win the Presidents’ Trophy for the best team during the regular season. He is a finalist for the third time in four years.

Colorado teammate Cale Makar is a finalist for the Norris Trophy as the league’s best defenseman, which like the Hart is voted on by members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association. Reigning playoff MVP Victor Hedman of the defending Stanley Cup champion Tampa Bay Lightning and Adam Fox of the New York Rangers are the other Norris finalists.

Avalanche goaltender Philipp Grubauer is a finalist for the Vezina Trophy, voted on by general managers, along with Vegas’ Marc-Andre Fleury and Tampa Bay’s Andrei Vasilevskiy. Captains Mark Stone of the Golden Knights, Patrice Bergeron of the Bruins and Aleksander Barkov of the Panthers are finalists for the Selke Trophy for best defensive forward.

Jack Adams Award finalists for Coach of the Year are set to be announced Friday. The league plans to reveal award winners during the playoff semifinals and Stanley Cup Final.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here